PhD research on Home Education

nelson

Hi all,

I am undertaking research into elective home education (EHE) for my PhD at the School of Education, University of Birmingham. I am funded as part of the Economic and Social Research Council’s (ESRC) 1+3 scholarship, and have just finished the Masters component of this programme.

I am relatively new to the field and I do not have any particular ideological convictions either for or against home education.

I appreciate you taking the time to read this, and would be delighted if you would be interested in helping me with my research project.

I am interested in investigating childrens' and young adults experiences of EHE and thier aspirations for the future, as this is an area that has essentially been overlooked in academic research in the UK. I aim to rectify this and would value any advice or support in making this possible. Any opportunities to engage with families would be welcomed greatly.

I would also be grateful to hear about any ideas and suggestions you may have.

If you have any questions or comments about my research, please do get in touch with me.

Email: JXN747@bham.ac.uk

Thank you

All the Best

Jeanette

nelson

Hi Diane,

At this stage I would like to focus primarily on young peoples' views of EHE and their future intentions (i.e. 14-16 years) as this is an area which is lacking in UK research, as opposed to US research. I think young people have much to contribute to the debates around EHE. Although having said that I know it is a difficult group to access, so would value any advice you might have.

The methods I intend to use would include a questionnaire survey to gain as many views as possible. Then interviews with young people who decide they want to participate after completing the questionnaire. There might also be a longitundinal element to the research as well - as it is over a period of three years, although this is undecided.